As I Labor

ImageDear Readers,

With record low temperatures across much of the country, this plant that wilted a bit on the way home, is temporarily perched on my printer.  As I labor at my desk, it renews my spirit.

Personal Goal/Objectives for my studies

As a full time nontraditional student, my goal is to complete the MLIS program (and my GC program in Gerontology) within the next two years. My objectives include the following:
1. Maintain Focus. Learn as much as possible as quickly as possible, but always with the intent to take that knowledge and apply it to my real world objective to be the best library professional that I can be. While I understand the necessity to keep good grades in graduate school, it is not my personal priority to become the class valedictorian. With every lesson, I am thinking of work life applications. Again, my goal is to function at the highest level possible for me so that I can ultimately deliver as a leader (on a daily basis) in the workplace. According to our course textbook, The Portable MLIS, “The path to leadership begins with self-reflection and leadership can be learned.” (Haycock & Sheldon, 2012.) In my experience, leaders have been most effective when they exude the qualities sought.

2. Balance tendencies to want to “know everything” and alleviate the self-placed pressure to “have to know “with the knowledge that “information retrieval” skills need to be honed. A general search may yield too much information, unreliable sources, and wasted time. My goal in this realm is to update my search skills; broaden my cache of relevant resources. I’m hoping that an improvement in computer-related skills as well as a firm grasp of library-related concepts will be evident as the semester progresses.

3. Decrease inhibitions by doing new things or apply new or a variety of methods to complete tasks. I was reluctant to start this blog. “Over-sharing” is a theme I’d heard enough via the news media to warrant suspension and avoidance of this type of forum; this personal journal is forcing me to reflect as I produce. Again, I ‘m recalling our text and other sources… Readers, perhaps you will find the book Getting Things Done: The Art of Stress-Free Productivity by David Allen of interest. It is a new copy of an older book that I serendipitously stumbled across on my way out of the public library where I had stopped just to pick up a book on reserve. The 2012 “must read summaries” would have suited me better in my time-crunched state—had I checked. The author states, “Information that might be useful lives at many levels.” For me, this book of “personal organization methods” is still quite relevant and appreciated. Oh, the possibilities….

References
Haycock, K., & Sheldon, B. E. (2008). The portable MLIS: Insights from the experts. Westport, Conn: Libraries Unlimited. p58.
Allen, David (2001) Getting Things Done: The Art of Stress-Free Productivity. London: Penguin Books. p166.
Allen, D. (2012). Getting Things Done: The art of Stress-Free Productivity. S.l.: Must Read Summaries.

Leave a Reply

